[DTAI] NEW IMMIGRATION FORM FOR TRAVELLING INTO INDIA – DINESH VORA


DESI TIMES AND INFORMATION
[DTAI] DESI  INTERNATIONAL 
EMAIL DIGEST
DINESH VORA


[1]

THE TIMES OF INDIA  

Passengers flying into India have 
to declare over Rs. 10,000 in 
new immigration form

Passengers flying into India have to declare over Rs 10,000 in new immigration form


All passengers coming to India will be filling up a new ‘Indian Customs Declaration Form’ which will seek details that will be different from the detachable perforated strip which is a part of the immigration card at the moment.

NEW DELHI: Passengers flying into India will have to declare Indian currency exceeding Rs 10,000 being brought by them, according to new customs rules which will be implemented from next month. 

Besides, they will also be asked to declare number of baggage, including hand baggage, while entering into India, said the new rules notified by the finance ministry. 

According to new rules under Customs Baggage Declaration (Amendment) Regulations, 2014, an Indian citizen would need to fill up the immigration form only when he or she goes out of the country. There will be no immigration form for Indian citizens returning from abroad.

The regulations will be implemented from March 1, 2014 said a notification issued on February 10, 2014 by the finance ministry. 

All passengers coming to India will be filling up a new ‘Indian Customs Declaration Form’ which will seek details that will be different from the detachable perforated strip which is a part of the immigration card at the moment. 

The ‘Indian Customs Declaration Form’ carries additional fields for declaration of dutiable and prohibited goods, which will help authorities in checking customs duty frauds and keep a record of gold jewellery and bullion being brought into the country, customs officials said. 

For the first time, travellers would be asked to specifically declare any prohibited articles, gold jewellery (over free allowance), gold bullion and Indian currency exceeding Rs 10,000 in the new form, they said. 

A passenger will have to give details of countries visited in the past six days and mention the passport number on the new form, which was not there earlier. 

Old fields like declaration of satellite phone, foreign currency exceeding $5,000 or equivalent, aggregate value of foreign exchange including currency exceeding $10,000 or equivalent, meat, meat products, dairy products, fish or poultry products and seeds, plants, fruits, flowers and other planting material have been retained in the new format. 

The passengers will also have to give details of baggage, including hand baggage, being carried by them in a separate column on the form. 

The country has 19 international airports in Srinagar, Amritsar, Jaipur, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Guwahati, Nagpur, Mumbai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Goa, Bangalore, Chennai, Calicut, Coimbatore, Tiruchirapalli, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Port Blair.



[2]
Visiting India Help Notes:
(1)  Indian Customs Declaration Form can be given to you on your arriving plane to India. To fill up the form use Ink pen and keep one handy with you. Filling by pencil is not acceptable.
(2) Keep passport, visa data and your address in India handy for the form.
 
(3) While traveling in India if you boast foreigner (USA citizen etc.) you may end up paying way higher sightseeing fees in some government places. In one place it was Rs.75 for locals versus $20.00 for foreigners.
(4) Usually show your driver’s license for ID if asked for and avoid giving
your USA passport in public places (Overnight Hotels etc.) They may 
not return passport immediately and can cause concern to you. 
(5) In air travels within India you may show your USA passport for ID to Air lines.  It may help you escape higher check-in and carryon luggage 
charges 
just to conform with USA airline standards for visitors.


[3]
BEAUTIFUL BEACH OF DWARKA, GUJARAT, INDIA

 

About Dinesh Vora

"Profile Dinesh Vora Greetings I like to present my short background and introduction here. I am Dinesh Vora from USA. I am an engineer worked for NASA and have many active hobbies. I am a Gujarati literature and humorous writer, translator, blogger, photographer, singer, presenter of articles. I am socially and religiously active with associations and clubs. I am astrologer and vegetarian by diet. The languages I actively know and use are English, Gujarati, and Hindi. I have learnt Bengali and German languages in school and college. I was born in Morbi, Gujarat, India and Gujarti is my mother-tongue and primary culture. I write religious articles, humors, stories and books. The languages I actively know and use are English, Gujarati, and Hindi. I have learnt Bengali and German languages in school and college. I was born in Morbi, Gujarat, India. Gujarati language is my mother-tongue and primary culture. I write religious articles, books, create post on web blog sites. I write English literary humors, stories and books. Profile Dinesh Vora Greetings I like to present my short background and introduction here. I am Dinesh Vora from USA. I am an engineer worked for NASA and have many active hobbies. I am a Gujarati literature and humorous writer, translator, blogger, photographer, singer, presenter of articles. I am socially and religiously active with associations and clubs. I am astrologer and vegetarian by diet. The languages I actively know and use are English, Gujarati, and Hindi. I have learnt Bengali and German languages in school and college. I was born in Morbi, Gujarat, India and Gujarti is my mother-tongue and primary culture. I write religious articles, humors, stories and books. The languages I actively know and use are English, Gujarati, and Hindi. I have learnt Bengali and German languages in school and college. I was born in Morbi, Gujarat, India. Gujarati language is my mother-tongue and primary culture. I write religious articles, books, create post on web blog sites. I write English literary humors, stories and books. "
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

